‘Star Wars: Episode IX’ Gets Official Name & Teaser Trailer

In a galaxy far far away…

After what felt like an eternity, Disney has finally released the first teaser for J.J. Abrams’ Star Wars: Episode IX, along with an official title: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker. This will be the third and final installment in the Star Wars sequel trilogy, following The Force Awakens (2015) and The Last Jedi (2017).

The Rise of Skywalker is rumored to be set exactly one year after the events of The Last Jedi and has been hailed as the end of the Skywalker saga. The Rise of Skywalker was written by J.J. Abrams and Chris Terrio and stars Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Domhnall Gleeson, Kelly Marie Tran, Joonas Suotamo, Billie Lourd, Naomi Ackie, Richard E. Grant, Keri Russell, Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels, Billy Dee Williams and the amazing Carrie Fisher.

Want the latest Movie Trailers delivered straight to your inbox? Sign up for our Exclusive Goliath Movie Trailer Email!

Watch the teaser below:

Here is the official poster for The Rise of Skywalker

Here are a collection of photos from Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker: 

So, what are your thoughts on the teaser and the new title? Does the title suggest the return of Luke or does it have something to do with Rey? Let us know in the comments below.

Source: Star Wars