Black Panther

Official ‘Black Panther’ Synopsis And Cast List Revealed

Production has officially commenced on Black Panther, Marvel Studios announced Thursday. Directed by Ryan Coogler, the film will shoot in Atlanta and South Korea.

Chadwick Boseman will reprise the title role of Wkandan king T’Challa and he’ll be joined by an all-star cast which includes Michael B. Jordan (Creed, Fantastic Four), Oscar winner Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years A SlaveStar Wars: The Force Awakens), Danai Gurira (The Walking Dead), Daniel Kaluuya (Get Out, Sicario), Angela Bassett (American Horror Story, Green Lantern), Oscar winner Forest Whitaker (Rogue One), Letitia Wright (Urban Hymn), Winston Duke (Person of Interest), and Sterling K. Brown (The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story).

Boseman will also be joined by a few familiar faces from the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Captain America: Civil War’s Martin Freeman, John Kani, and Florence Kasumba are back as Everett Ross, T’Chaka, and T’Challa’s security agent Ayo, respectively, and Marvel has also confirmed that Andy Serkis will reprise his Avengers: Age of Ultron role as the villain Ulysses Klaw.

Photo: Marvel Studios

The official Black Panther plot synopsis reads: “Black Panther follows T’Challa who, after the events of Captain America: Civil War, returns home to the isolated, technologically advanced African nation of Wakanda to take his place as King. However, when an old enemy reappears on the radar, T’Challa’s mettle as King and Black Panther is tested when he is drawn into a conflict that puts the entire fate of Wakanda and the world at risk.”

Black Panther is set to hit theaters February 16, 2018.

Nick Steinberg (@Nick_Steinberg)

Nick Steinberg (@Nick_Steinberg)